Project Management is not necessarily what you think it is.

I’m a Project Manager by task, but by title I’m a Mechanical Engineer for a geothermal power company. As projects come and go, I’m finding similarities between many of them in unexpected places; and not just from project to project in the renewable energy industry. Before this, I was a project manager for an architecture firm and the difference between the two industries is pretty vast. But the concepts of managing a project and the interaction with the people behind them stay relatively the same.

In this blog, I will be exploring to do’s and don’ts from a “live action” perspective. I’m currently at the beginning stages of an extended project and it’s my first experience with this type of project and the learning curve has been steep and extraordinarily fast. I will not be getting technical, nor will I be getting into the specifics of the project.

The goal of this blog is not to tout the project, but rather find the common threads between all project managing experiences from varying industries to even situations in daily life. For we are all project managers of our life, of our families, and of our careers. Thus, instances outside of the typical project management box become very applicable when the thinking shifts towards this type of perspective.

I will be tying it all together, from the job site to the office; from small teams to the company’s impact as a whole and again, I will be doing this real time. As I come across instances in my day-to-day that apply, I’m going to share them with you. I’m looking forward to your comments and how you might personally handle the situation differently. Or, if you see something you can use I’d love to hear how it went when implemented. Even criticisms are very welcome (especially criticisms); if you see me misspeak about a particular items, please, by all means correct me. I’m using this as a learning tool toward a better handling of projects and people and I’m sure there will be a few laughs along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

